You are here: Home page  -Country news

4 December 2007 | Printer friendly

Child Safety Report Cards - Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Spain and Sweden

The European Child Safety Alliance has produced Child Safety Report Cards and Country Profiles for 18 countries. The Report Card describes: 1) how well a country is doing to make it safe for children, 2) what priority issues need to be addressed, and 3) which good practices should be adopted to prevent accidental injuries and to save more children’s lives. They assess the extent of safety measures provided to children and adolescents by examining and grading the adoption, implementation and enforcement of national level evidence-based policies.

The 12 policy topics comprise:

Nine areas of safety relevant to children and adolescents

- Passenger safety,
- Motor scooter and moped safety,
- Pedestrian safety and
- Cycling safety
- Water safety/drowning prevention,
- Fall prevention,
- Burn prevention,
- Poisoning prevention,
- Choking/strangulation prevention

Plus three areas of strategy to support child safety efforts

- Leadership,
- Infrastructure and
- Capacity.

The Report Cards are designed to provide not only a baseline on which to assess progress but also a tool for identifying current policy gaps and suggesting priorities for action.

The Report Cards were launched in the European Parliament with the aim of communicating the review findings to influential policy makers and stakeholders at both the EU and national level so that they galvanise action. An 18-Country Summary Report Card provides a multi-country overview to facilitate European-level planning to support national level efforts.

All 18 participating countries have committed themselves to developing plans as part of the Child Safety Action Plan (CSAP) initiative of the European Child Safety Alliance. CSAP is funded by the European Commission and implemented with the help of the Health & Environment Alliance (HEAL), UNICEF, Universities of Keele and the West of England World Health Organization (WHO) and 18 national partner organisations. For individual Report Cards and Country Profiles plus a Summary Report, see www.childsafetyeurope.org.

For contact details of national partners in your countries, please see table below.

Country Name Contact person Organisation Email
Austria Gudula Brandmayr Safe Kids Austria gudula.brandmayr@klinikum-graz.at
Belgium Carine Renard CRIOC Carine.Renard@oivo-crioc.org
Czech Republic Veronika Benesova Charles University veronika.benesova@lfmotol.cuni.cz
Denmark Hanne Moller National Institute of Public Health ham@si-folkesundhed.dk
Estonia Liis Roovali National Institute for Health Development, Ministry of Social Affairs of Estonia liis.roovali@sm.ee
France Delphine Girard INPES delphine.girard@inpes.sante.fr
Germany Martina Abel Safe Kids Germany koordination@kindersicherheit.de
Greece Agis Terzidis Centre for Research and Prevention of Injuries (C.E.RE.PR.I.) Agterz@med.uoa.gr
Hungary Dr. Gabriella Páll National Institute of Child Health gabipall@ogyei.hu
Italy D’Anna Little University of Udine little.danna@uniud.it
Netherlands Sabine van Eck Consumer Safety Institute S.vanEck@veiligheid.nl
N. Ireland Heather Holland Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents (RoSPA - Northern Ireland) hholland@rospa.com
Norway Johan Lund Norwegian Safety Forum johan.lund@fnh.no
Poland Marta Malinowska-Cieslik Institute of Public Health, Jagiellonian University Medical College xmciesli@cyf-kr.edu.pl
Portugal Helena Menezes APSI helena.menezes@iol.pt
Scotland Elizabeth Lumsden Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents (RoSPA - Scotland) elumsden@rospa.com
Spain Dr. Jorge Parise Spanish Pediatric Association jjparise@yahoo.com
Sweden Richard Svanegĺrd Swedish Rescue Services Agency richard.svanegard@srv.se

In the same section: